The blog formerly known as The Dobbs Method

Battlefield: Bad Company

Posted in Gaming, Video Games by Taylor Dobbs on 03/04/2009

Battlefield: Bad Company Cover ArtWell after 5 days straight of Call of Duty 4 pwnage in celebration of double XP weekend (I went from Level 48, into prestige mode, and back up to the high 20s. Thank you, Infinity Ward) I had finally grown somewhat tired of it. My pile of games borrowed from a friend staring at me from my desk, begging to be played before he asks for them back, I decided to skip to the next one: Battlefield: Bad Company. This game surprised be quite a bit. Though I didn’t play the pervious titles in the series, they struck me as serious and reaistic – a quality I look for in FPSs about war. I was expecting another crazy shooter in which you and your badass, hardcore squad move through (and destroy) one of the most interactive environments I had ever seen. What’d I get? A squad of 3 other idiots.

Sweetwater is smart, but a complete failure on the battlefield (except yesterday when he apparently got fed up with the AI and went Platoon on ’em.) Haggard is about as Redneck as they come, but seems to get slightly more aroundsed by explosions than his cousins. Sarge is smart, but his sarcastic remarks make me want to  put a live grenade in his mouth.

The gameplay? Not bad. While the movement is not as smooth as Call of Duty and I often have trouble turning to face whatever enemy (I’m not really sure if they’re Russians or what) happens to be shooting at me, it’s really cool. If you hit a tree with your grenade launcher, it falls down. Same goes for walls, sandbags, mounted guns, and (obviously) enemies. Good stuff. Using the Iron sights of your weapon gives you an unrealistic amount of zoom, which is a welcome flaw, but a flow nonetheless.

The biggest letdown: headshots. You know those kills in FPSs where you hit a weakened enemy in the leg and he falls dead? You got the kill, sure, but you’re still like “Damn. That was lame.” That’s how headshots feel in bad company. No dramatic explosion, no special acknowledgement of your mad skillz, just another dead enemy. Same goes with knifing (which is next to impossible). The point is, when you’re skillful or dedicated enough to making an epic kill, they should give you some satisfaction.

In summary – I put this game in expecting a realistic game in a realistic war (not somewhere in rural Europe shooting at random mercenaries) fighting against and alongside realistic soldiers. Fail. I ended up playing an unrealistic game with unrealistic all of those things, and the one place I want the game to be dripping in unrealistic splendor (headshots), it’s not. In a game where you’re supposed to kill people, it should be fun to kill them. Yes that sounded twisted, but I’m not that sick. I don’t kill people in real life and blah blah blah. All I’m saying is that when you get a headshot in Gears of War 2, you know you got a headshot. Why? Because the alien’s head is gone and there is a 2-foot-tall fountain of blood rising out of its neck. That’s what I’m talking about.

But hey, that’s just me.

Tagged with: ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ray said, on 03/04/2009 at 9:54 pm

    I love your passion for head shots.

    • Mr. Dobbs said, on 03/05/2009 at 10:13 am

      I truly have never done anything in a videogame that was as satisfying as a good headshot. Something about it is (without sounding too twisted)… magical.

  2. […] few months ago, I posted a negative review of Battlefield: Bad Company. I had only played through the first part of the game, and obviously […]


Leave a Reply

