The blog formerly known as The Dobbs Method

I Love You, Man Review

Posted in Film by Taylor Dobbs on 04/03/2009

Last weekend I was lucky enough to go and catch I Love You, Man in the local theater. If you read no further read this: WATCH THIS MOVIE! It was phenomenal. This movie is just plain filled potential.

As I was walking down the street with a buddy after the movie, I described it like this: “Some movies, say, Knocked Up, have the potential for a certain amount of funny just based on the situation. This movie presented a situation with much less potential for funny, but used all of it.” It did. Every situation where I expected something to be funny, it was just as funny as I expected if not more. Even in the situations where I wasn’t expecting to laugh, I did.

Paul Rudd can just plain act. He has all of the subtle, yet wonderfully comical details of the job down. Seeing him mumble as he tried to make up nicknames for his new friends or just his (intentional) awkwardness made him so easy to relate to and laugh at. I suppose this could have been expected, as he stole the show in Knocked Up as a tormented suburban family man.

I can’t wait to see more from Rudd as well as director and co-writer John Hamburg. This was an awesome movie. I hope you all get a chance to see it and enjoy it as much as I did.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. TK said, on 04/03/2009 at 3:00 pm

    You didn’t feel the film was slightly predictable though? You know what is going to happen don’t you?

    The Apatow formula is ever present.

    I enjoyed the film and laughed a lot. But I don’t think it offered the character depth or complexity of Knocked Up.

    Read my review at reelguy.wordpress.com.

    Let me know your thoughts.


Leave a Reply

