The blog formerly known as The Dobbs Method

Blogging: I Still Have No Idea

Posted in Personal by Taylor Dobbs on 05/06/2009

So The Dobbs Method has been live here for four or five months, and while I’ve learned a lot, I also feel like I haven’t progressed at all. Most of the learning I’ve done about blogging has been through twitter and just checking out other blogs around the net. When I began blogging, I had thought it was just an easy medium for projecting one’s thoughts and ideas into the world. While this is definitely the approach to take with a blog in a general sense, it wasn’t what I thought.

The first and most important thing I learned is that there are many different types of blog. As with anything, all types have their pros and cons. With The Dobbs Method, I was hoping to have a personal blog (in which one writes about whatever is on their mind, no matter the subject) that got lots of hits and many comments and discussion. Unfortunately, such a blog is rare. Unless you’re a celebrity or otherwise doing something interesting with your life, people don’t really want to hear about the new cat you got then read about the most recent episode of 24.

I’ve found that most successful blogs have a few things in common.

-Theme – Posts mainly center on one subject or field.

-Frequent posts – Posts multiple times per week, if not every day.

-Professional Layout – Looks good.

-Good Reader Interaction – Responds to reader comments, etc.

The Dobbs Method can only confidently say it falls into one of the above categories, and that’s reader interaction. I try to interact with anyone who comments. Other than that, I can’t confidently say any of the other features are present in my blog. I put up a new header to try to improve the look, but I’m not sure if that helped or hurt. As far as a subject, I have really been trying to figure out something that I would like to write about frequently. Nothing really comes to mind. Sure, I could write about video games multiple times per week (I tried this and neither my own satisfaction nor increased readership encouraged me to continue), but I want to figure out something to write about that people will rally around.

I have been toying with the idea of starting a new blog about college life. Tips and stories abotu college life from contributors all over the country.  I’ve seen a few of these, though nothing that was exactly like what I have in mind. This idea might work, but I still haven’t planned much out and with finals going on right now, I don’t have the time. Maybe this blog will spring up as things get started next year. We’ll see.

To summarize, though, I still have no idea what I’m doing with the blog here. If you have any favorite posts or suggestions on what to do with this blog, please let me know. Anything from layout/appearance tips to theme tips would be appreicated. I need to find a direction with this, as it will probably be the primary thing keeping me sane over the summer. Thanks!

Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

