The blog formerly known as The Dobbs Method

Okay, I’m Just a Geek

Posted in Uncategorized by Taylor Dobbs on 11/06/2009

I haven’t posted in a few months because I am very conflicted about this blog. I know what I have to do to get a good number of hits: write about current tech trends (things likely to take water from the Google river) and, especially, Twitter. There’s only one problem with this model: I don’t enjoy it. I don’t really care if Twitter just signed a deal with Google (they did) or if Microsoft’s Bing is growing faster than any other search engine (it is). Okay, so I guess it’s not that I don’t care. I just don’t care enough to write about it. If I – uninformed, internet-dwelling college student – know about it, then it’s already been written about. Extensively.

 

So this blog is getting a makeover. Maybe not in appearance (at least for now), but in content. I’m sick of uploading these little blurbs about tech industry news so that I can be another outlet for the same information. No, that’s being done (and much better than I can do it) already. So from now on, this is – both literally and figuratively – my domain. I’ll write about whatever I want in whatever format I want. I don’t need your hits, not here. I’m sick of selling my soul for hits that won’t ever even translate into any monetary gain. So for now, and on The Dobbs Method, forever, I’m writing what I want to because I want to.

 

If you don’t like the direction I’m taking, then don’t visit my blog. My feelings won’t be hurt, it’s okay. I’m not sure I would want to be lectured by another geek about his geekery either. But for those of you out there who want to see into the mind of a gamer/blogger/boyfriend/son/student/slob/college boy (not in that order), then stick around.

 

Later,

Taylor

 

P.S. Why am I not starting over in a new blog? Because the stuff that I have posted here still gets hits, so someone finds it useful on a daily basis. It’s not lost, it’s just not what I want to do now. The Dobbs Method is whatever I want it to be, and more than anything else I want it to be dynamic. That’s why this post is just above one that is exactly what I was saying that I don’t want to do.

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

